It’s not the devil, stupid…It never was!

In my mind, it is the things you don’t immediately notice about people that come to define them most deeply – It  might be a mannerism that belies something deeper, or a quality of mind with which they see our curious world that has a particular flavour that is theirs.

In this way, we inevitably infuse the things we make with the subtleties that define us, and what I’m trying to get at in a very roundabout way is how the dialogue with a client begins to somehow  define the way the design process develops.

This last client our ours, a fine-minded academic type said one thing that really stuck in my mind which was some oblique comment about certain designs being crass, or too obvious… I can’t quite remember exactly, but a little way down the road, the stylistic details that define this latest piece just presented themselves. I didn’t choose or ‘design’ them, at some unidentifiable moment, they were just there.

I think I have said before that I always hesitate to label myself as a designer, and I think this is why. I am just more interested in how things seem to design themselves sometimes… And if this happens while I am around I guess that’s a gift to be gratefully enjoyed, as I hope our fine minded academic client will enjoy this grown up receptacle for the rapidly vanishing book…

It’s a real concern for us makers… at what point do we stop making bookcases… seriously people!

– John

This entry was posted in Cabinetry, Favourite images, Favourite posts, Good people, The bigger picture, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s not the devil, stupid…It never was!

  1. Very nice post this one. Thanks John for those thoughts.

Leave a Reply

